Here is a list of just some of the games to come out this year.

I’ll include hyperlinks to the trailers throughout the article.

Call of Duty: World War II – it looks like we’ll finally be getting another ‘boots on the ground’ CoD instalment. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed CoD’s little tirade into the future of military combat, but those felt less like CoD games and more like Halo prequels. A return to classic weapons and good old fashioned war will be a welcome change for the Call of Duty franchise.

Set for release November 3, 2017.

Injustice 2 – I didn’t really find myself enjoying Injustice: Gods Among Us but that’s partially because it wasn’t Mortal Kombat and it felt like it was trying so hard to be Mortal Kombat. Injustice 2 looks like it will be far more interesting, with gear customisation, you’ll have more control over your playstyle, which is something I look forward to.

Set for release May 16, 2017.

Friday the 13th – I’m seriously looking forward to this. I literally can’t describe how excited I am for this game. I’m kind of hoping they’ll release a Freddy DLC but I feel like that would be an entirely different game altogether.

Set for release May 26, 2017.

Crash Bandicoot N. Sane Trilogy – kind of looking forward to this, kind of not. Let’s be honest, as nostalgic as it would be to play Crash Bandicoot again, I feel like it wouldn’t enthral it’s older fans the way it used to, we grew up, and here is a game that didn’t. That may very well be part of the appeal but I don’t see myself playing it for more than an hour or two a week.

Set for release June 30, 2017.

Tekken 7 – I grew up playing Mortal Kombat and Tekken, with a little bit of Street Fighter on the side; so I imagine I’ll be playing this just for the nostalgia trip, but unless it adds to the story or incorporates new mechanics, I don’t really see it being all that popular.

Set for release June 2, 2017.

The Elder Scrolls Online: Morrowind – I would be excited for this if I actually enjoyed ESO, but I don’t enjoy ESO so I’m not really excited for this. I might start playing again (I bought ESO on release but refunded it after a few hundred hours of play), but probably only for Morrowind.

Set for release June 6, 2017.

Middle Earth: Shadow of War – I loved Shadow of Mordor, and I’m sure I’ll love this as well. Honestly, they don’t even have to add new stuff, just keep the mechanics, graphics and gameplay exactly the same and I’ll still play the hell out of it, as long the story is just as good (and I’m referring more to the lore than anything).

Set for release August 22, 2017.

Marvel vs Capcom Infinite – I’m not really sure if I want this or not, I remember playing the last one but I don’t really remember it being insanely enjoyable. Let’s see how this goes.

Set for release September 19, 2017.

Other games set for release this year but with no definite release date include:

Red Dead Redemption 2

Metal Gear Survive (really not looking forward to this, I don’t like the idea of Metal Gear without Kojima)

Nidhogg 2

Outlast 2

Shenmue 3

Super Mario Odyssey

and South Park: The Fractured But Whole

I’m eager to see what gets announced at E3 this year, especially from Ubisoft, considering the recent leaks regarding an upcoming Assassin’s Creed game – leaks which they have not yet publicly addressed.

But one leak that I’m really excited about is Darksiders 3. If you haven’t heard the news or seen the trailer, you have to look it up right now, I’ll even drop a link to the trailer below. Apparently, Amazon set up the sales page (trailer, breakdown and all) and forgot to not set the page to ‘LIVE’ (meaning they activated the page and ended up revealing it to the public)… Darksiders 3 confirmed.

When E3 comes, I’ll do my best to write about each conference as it happens. And I’m really looking forward to it this year.

