Bethesda, I’m actually really disappointed in you this year. No one was really asking for The Evil Within 2 (which I’m sure we’ll enjoy, either way) but this year you really weren’t that great. You kind of just spent half the time reminding us of the things you’d made and then announced two sequels and what looks like a DLC.

But I’ll be honest, DOOM VFR looks pretty damn cool. I was hoping for something a little different, more like the actual game and less of the whole teleporting around and shooting stuff while just standing on the spot but what we got looks better than last year. Same goes for Fallout VR. Looks good, just not sure if they’ll really draw in the crowds.

 

The Evil Within 2 looks amazing but, I’m going to say it again, no one was asking for it. We weren’t really all that hyped for a sequel, because the game didn’t feel like it needed one. But hey, I’m sure we’ll have lots of fun answering the unanswered questions that the first one left us with.

 

Okay, so there is one thing I was really looking forward to and I’m glad we got it: Wolfenstein 2: The New Colossus. Bethesda teased this last year and I’m really happy that they’re delivering, the trailer was a mix of live action and gameplay (minus any form of UI) and now we can see what was so “fucking bananas”: a woman pregnant with twins repeatedly stabbing a nazi while her friend is tripping acid. What could possibly go wrong?

 

We have also had a look at what seems to be a sequel to Dishonoured 2. Death of the Outsider follows Daud, the man who killed Empress Jessamine Caldwin, and his ally, Billie Lurk, now cybernetically enhanced. The trailer starts with Billie infiltrating a mysterious ship and freeing Daud; upon asking who their next target is, Daud tells her that they’ll be killing The Outsider.

Note that this is not a DLC and it is in fact a standalone game.

 

Then we have Elder Scrolls Legends. Which seems to now also have a DLC called Heroes of Skyrim. Not entirely sure what to say about this other than I’ll be giving it a try sometime in the not too distant future.

Speaking of Elder Scrolls, Elder Scrolls Online: Morrowind is the next in a long line of DLCs that expand on the already massive world of ESO. I might buy ESO again, just to give Morrowind a try, but I might actually just stick with Skyrim and keep waiting for The Elder Scrolls VI.

 

Bethesda, I’m not going to lie, I loved the whole Bethesdaland thing, the way it was presented, the animation style, the whole thing, felt very Fallout; nice way of avoiding cringy presenters and company executives messing up their lines, I feel like Ubisoft should take a page from your book and follow suit.

BUT… where the heck is Starfield?

I get that you guys are busy with DOOM VFR, Fallout VR, New Colossus and the rest but seriously guys, a new IP could have saved your showcase; might have even won you E3 this year. Oh well, I guess we’ll just have to wait for next year to even see anything of Starfield.

 

Oh, and guys, we all know how Bethesda works, we’ll be playing The New Colossus, Death of the Outsider and The Evil Within 2 before the end of the year.

Sony, it’s up to you now.

