E3 2017 After Action Report – Sony

Sony could very well have won E3 this year… if not for the technical difficulties they had at the start, because I didn’t hear anything during that Horizon Zero Dawn DLC trailer.

 

But hey, found the trailer online and I have to say, I’m liking the sound of it. I never really got to play Horizon Zero Dawn but from the gameplay footage I’ve seen since the game’s initial release, it is amazing and the DLC promises on exactly the same thing. So I’m sure it will be no less than expected.

 

Uncharted is getting a spin-off, titled Uncharted: The Lost Legacy. Doubtless, the gameplay will be similar to that found in Uncharted 4 but it seems the two protagonists, mercenary Nadine Ross and treasure hunter Chloe Frazer, do not like each other; I’m sure they have good reasons for hating one another and I’d like to find out why, which I’m sure I will when the game comes out.

 

Destiny 2. Okay, so I was hoping for a little more on the single-player campaign but Sony focused the showcase entirely on the multiplayer. Seriously, just when you guys figure out we want single-player, you promise one but then talk about the multiplayer instead; come on, learn.

 

Shadow of the Colossus is getting a remaster for the PS4 and PS4 Pro; apparently, it’s being helmed by the same people who recreated it for the PS3, so they shouldn’t break the game (we hope). Seriously, this game never gets old and I’d love to play it again – although I probably could, if I knew anyone who had it; but still: REMASTER, we gamers love hearing that word. What could possibly go wrong?

 

We got our first look at Call of Duty: World War II’s multiplayer and, I’ll be honest with you, it didn’t show much; but it definitely looks like we’ll be seeing the much grittier side of the war than we have in previous games.

 

The next entry in the God of War franchise has been slated for an early 2018 release, no actual date has been given just yet. The trailer we were shown gives us another look at those glorious graphics and an inside peek into the relationship between Kratos and his son, as well as a little story information. We still don’t know how Kratos ended up in the frozen wastelands of the Nords but we do know that the gods there already don’t like him – oh, and the World Serpent wants to help him.

 

Detroit: Become Human also got a showcase, giving us more story information. Well, not really, it just made the story seem more epic. All we know is that you get to decide whether or not to take part in the robot uprising.

 

With regards to Playstation VR, we got glimpses of TESV: Skyrim, Final Fantasy 15 (I’d love to see how the gameplay would work, or if it will just be the fishing and camping, which would be lame), Starchild, Moss and Superhot VR. I’m interested to see how these games work, but from what we could see of the Skyrim, aiming now looks very finicky and weird, but we’ll see how that turns out in the future.

 

But there are two games that really caught my eye, and those would be Spider-Man and Monster Hunter World. We got gameplay for the one (Spider-Man) and an extended trailer for the other (Monster Hunter World) and I CANNOT WAIT for either of them to come out.

 

Sony did pretty well this E3, but I still somehow feel like they could have done better.

Leave a Reply

